Mushrooms and Cheese

Welcome to the secret blog. This is an opinion post, written by Emma, Gareth or someone from outside. It’s designed to be slightly controversial, and while there will be times it’s obvious who has written it, we hope most of the time it won’t be.

I hate mushrooms. I hate non-melted cheese without a tomato sauce base. Both really don’t taste nice. Urgh, it makes me feel vaguely sick just considering it.

Yet it feels like that is all you see for vegetarian options at most restaurants. There will always be mushrooms in their dishes, on their pizzas, with their sauces or cheese will be splattered all over it.

Splattering cheese all over dishes is actually contradictory anyway. It’s designed to cover the taste, and so you can’t have a true opinion of a dish and it raises the bar on how unhealthy the food is that you’re eating. It makes no sense to do it, especially if you are trying to be healthy, but above all it’s disgusting.

Most vegetarians I know actually don’t like mushrooms, yet you talk to meat eaters and the uneducated amongst them (and there’s a lot) seem to think every vegetarian dish MUST revolve around stuffing mushrooms. It’s utterly bizarre.

Where has this fascination come from?

Don’t get me wrong; I’m fully aware that some of the processed food I eat will contain mushrooms. I’m not naïve enough to assume otherwise. And as a result maybe I’m contradictory? I don’t think so – I can actively avoid eating pure mushroom if I want to.

I’m not calling for a revolution. I’m merely asking for a little more imagination, a little more variety. Variety isn’t necessarily the spice of life (that, by all reports, is turmeric), and believe me I’m not usually one for food variety, but it would help improve the prospects for us vegetarians looking to be mushroom and cheese free while enjoying a good time and not limiting our options while eating out.

And by the way, can pubs please start clarifying whether their chips are cooked with vegetarian oils or not?

2 thoughts on “Mushrooms and Cheese

  1. I was vegetarian for 9 years, started eating meat again about 2 years ago now… As much as I love mushrooms and cheese (Munster is my fave! ), I have not touched mushroom risotto since 2015! Standard restaurants really need to up their veggie option game!

    Like

    1. Emma, thank you for your comment. It’s great to hear stories from our readers! I completely agree, restaurants do indeed need to learn that vegetarian food is so much more than just one or two bland dishes. Hopefully we will see a movement in the next few years through blogs such as ours!

      Like

Leave a Reply

