#eatclean

2015 was a hell of a year for me. I remember it distinctly. I was miserable at sixth form with no friends, the stress of A levels and too much excess weight. Part of me is surprised I got through that time but yet here I am.

What do I owe it to? Clean eating.

I know I know. It’s not cool anymore – it’s a fad that’s passed just as Pokemon Go has. But cast your minds back to 2015 and maybe you’ll be able to see why I still don’t feel like we should complete dismiss it.

January 2015 was when I first picked up Deliciously Ella’s cookbook and little did I know it was about to transform things for me. As in completely turn my life around. I cut gluten, dairy and sugar out of my diet almost overnight. I started walking 10,000 steps everyday and running three days a week.

What’s clean eating all about then? Why is it getting a ton of bad press nowadays?

Clean eating is essentially plant based eating. Cutting out all the processed food out of our diet and replacing it with nourishing plant based foods. At its roots clean eating is a good thing. Cut out the crap and replace it with genuine wholesome food. Where does it go wrong? As with every other fad people take it to the extreme. Similar to me, they cut out everything, restrict everything and end up making themselves unhappy.

I wasn’t unhappy though. I was buzzing. It was the best I had ever felt. Should I have gone so extreme? Maybe not. Am I that extreme now? Nowhere near.

So, why all the backlash against it? Clean eating doesn’t work for everyone and it shouldn’t be taken to extremes as it has caused many people to be unhappy. Yet, I can’t quite forget 2015. I owe a lot to clean and plant based eating. I’ve become knowledgable on it over time and still implement its basics into my everyday life.

At its core clean eating has good intentions – it’s not its fault if some people take it too far.

Leave a Reply

