Homemade: Lentil Burgers and the Best Sweet Potato Wedges

As a vegetarian I’m often asked if I miss meat or fish. The answer is no and this recipe is proof of that. Even when I ate meat as a family we loved bean burgers – you honestly can’t beat them – and I think I always preferred them to the meat alternative. A burger in a bun with a side of chips is one of those meals that you could really do with at any point really.

I’m in love with this recipe as I’ve been trying to perfect a good burger for a while now. I feel like I’ve hit the mark if I do say so myself. And the greatest part? They can be eaten by all. They’re vegan, gluten free, refined sugar free, nut free and so on but yet they pack a heap of taste.

Yet, these burgers are paired perfectly with homemade sweet potato wedges. I know you’re dying to know the secrets behind the perfect wedge right? I call it the holy trinity of wedges. Leave the skin on, make sure all the wedges aren’t touching and add chopped garlic five minutes before they are done. This way you get crispy wedges with flavour. I think my life was revolutionised when I learnt this. And I must thank Gareth for being bored one day, therefore adding garlic to his chips. He’s a genius.

So, next time you fancy a burger reach for these bad boys.

Ingredients

Makes 8 burgers (can serve four if not using buns or eight if using buns – simply double the wedges recipe if using).

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees (180 degrees for fan ovens)

Burgers

1 onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
500g cooked puy lentils
200g cooked brown rice
1 tbsp tomato purée
1 tbsp tamari (or soy sauce)
1 tbsp lemon juice, approx half a lemon
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
Salt and pepper

Wedges

2 sweet potatoes, chopped into wedges
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1/2 tsp chilli flakes (optional)
Salt and pepper

Serve with your choice of bun, leaves and if you’re not vegan some grilled halloumi.

  1. Lay the wedges side by side on a baking tray without touching and cover in oil.
  2. Sprinkle the chilli flakes if using and salt and pepper over the wedges.
  3. Put in the oven for approximately 30 minutes or until soft in the middle.
  4. Whilst the wedges are cooking start the burgers by frying the onion and garlic in a pan.
  5. Once the onion is browned add the spices and cook for a couple of minutes.
  6. Add the other ingredients to the pan and cook until heated through.
  7. With a potato masher, mash the lentils until the majority of them are broken down.
  8. Form these into 8 burgers.
  9. Oil a pan and fry the burgers for a couple of minutes on each side until the outside is crispy.
  10. Serve with the wedges in a bun, with leaves and halloumi (if using).

Hope you love them as much as I do!

2 thoughts on “Homemade: Lentil Burgers and the Best Sweet Potato Wedges

Leave a Reply

