Things We Should Stop Giving A Bad Time

iii) Men Wearing Pink

We’re three months into this column and I haven’t ever really explained what it’s about. If you think it seems obvious, you are probably right. There are certain things which I believe society has given a rough ride to. This is my chance to explain why we shouldn’t be so harsh on them. Of course, it’s completely biased, and totally opinion based but it’s designed to make you think about your own opinions on stuff, whether you agree with me or not.

The first two months have been about food, which is slightly odd for me as I’m not really a foodie, so today I’ll branch away. And talk about something quite close to my heart (in some cases, quite literally).

Men wearing pink.

If you’ve followed my Lagom Hue journey, you’ll understand that I’m not the most confident of blokes, so it might surprise you a little to learn that I wear pink a lot. If you’ve ever met me, it really won’t.

Why? Simply put, I just absolutely love the colour pink. I mean, there are a few shades I don’t like, but they are rare. And on top of that, I think it works really well as a colour to wear. I’m not a fashion expert (you really should see some of my outfits) but pink, in my opinion, looks great with black, white, grey and blue.

And yet society has placed a taboo on the colour as a clothing choice for men. From birth, boys are expected to wear blue and girls pink and no one ever explains it nor understands why. Colours are colours. There is no such thing as a feminine one or a masculine one.

(For the record, I don’t believe in femininity and masculinity anyway. Why is being bulked up a male thing and enjoying shopping a female thing? Stupid gender constricts placed upon us by society guidelines.)

Further, it annoys me that men who wear pink wear it as almost a statement. A bold, attention-grabbing shirt that says: “I can pull pink off”. It’s a bit ridiculous when you consider the stupidity of that point. When a woman wears blue, she isn’t doing it because all her life people are telling her she can’t.

If you want to wear pink, go on and wear pink. I love my pink ties. I will always own one. I want to buy a smart pink shirt. My love for smart stuff in pink came from Torchwood, Gareth David-Lloyd as Ianto Jones (still the greatest fictional character) always pulled off a pink shirt. At the time, I noticed that and thought it bold. Now it’s kind of just common sense, pink looks great on everyone – why shouldn’t we wear it?

And so, we should stop noticing when men wear pink. And men should stop wearing it as a statement. It should be a casual, everyday thing for men to wear pink clothes – just as it is for a woman to wear any shirt, blouse, dress or skirt. At the end of the day, femininity is just a man-made concept, so why should we listen to those who enforce it as social rules for clothing?

2 thoughts on “Things We Should Stop Giving A Bad Time

  1. One of the earliest references to gender-specific colour schemes appeared in a June of 1918 edition of the trade publication Earnshaw’s Infants’ Department:
    “The generally accepted rule is pink for the boys, and blue for the girls. The reason is that pink , being a more decided and stronger color, is more suitable for the boy, while blue, which is more delicate and dainty, is prettier for the girl.”
    The general consensus being that clothing manufacturers wanted people to buy separate sets of clothes for male/female children rather than sharing the same outfits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

