Homemade: Jaffa Butterfly Cakes

It is not a secret that Gareth is an addict of all things Jaffa Cake. We permanently have a stash in the cupboards that I often see him snacking on when he thinks I’m not looking.

I personally haven’t eaten one in years now but I do understand why it is easy to be addicted to them. Eating one just isn’t enough. You end up devouring a packet within minutes. In fact, Gareth does resist well from doing this.

So, seeing as Jaffa Cakes are a bizarre staple in our house, I thought I’d create my own version of them.

I’m insanely proud of this recipe. A good half a year ago I attempted to make a Jaffa Cake and it failed miserably. The jelly was all wrong, the cakes crumbled and I didn’t even bother with the chocolate. So, I left it and thought it wasn’t worth trying again. However, after a eureka moment in the shower (I do definitely come up with my best ideas in the shower) I came up with the idea of Jaffa Butterfly Cakes. I’m so glad I did.

There have been many mistakes with them along the way. The jelly tasting bland and looking like sick. Trying a chocolate ganache which curdled. And many more. However, my biggest mistake was the cake recipe but it turned out to be the best mistake I’ve made. I hadn’t realised we only had one egg so had started the sponge to find we didn’t have enough eggs. I improvised – put in the egg and added some milk. It worked! The sponge is one of the best I’ve ever made.

Seriously, give this recipe a go – you won’t regret it.

emmastill__DSC9169_20170503

Makes 12 cupcakes

Preheat the oven to 190ºC (or 170ºC for fan ovens)/gas mark 4.

2 large oranges
3 tbsp chia seeds
4 tbsp maple syrup
200g coconut sugar (or brown sugar)
100g coconut oil, melted
1 tbsp vanilla essence
1 egg (or for vegans, 1 flax egg)
200g white spelt flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp plant milk (I use oat milk)
80g dark chocolate

Zest and juice the oranges and pour into a jug. Add the maple syrup and chia seeds and place in the fridge stirring every five minutes or so to stop clumps. The chia will absorb the liquid and gradually a jelly like substance will form.

Meanwhile, mix together the coconut oil, coconut sugar and vanilla essence. Crack in the egg and throughly mix until combined. Sift in the flour and baking powder and stir until a thick batter forms.

Pour in the milk and stir. The batter will still be quite thick. Divide equally into cupcake cases and bake in the oven for 15 minutes. Leave to cool.

Melt the chocolate in a bowl over a half filled saucepan of water. Once the cupcake are cool, use a sharp knife to cut a circle in the middle. Remove the circle of cake and cut it in half. Spoon in a generous amount of jelly, top with chocolate and place in the ‘butterfly wings’. Drizzle with some extra chocolate. Repeat this for each cake.

Place in the fridge for about an hour so the chocolate sets. These cakes should be stored in the fridge if you don’t eat them all in one go!

emmastill__DSC9181_20170503

7 thoughts on “Homemade: Jaffa Butterfly Cakes

  1. These are adorable. I admit it took me a while before I finally opened up to the taste of Jaffa Cakes but man, I feel like I’ve been missing out all this time. The flavor combo is just great, and so refreshing. I love this spin on them, so creative, and they look absolutely delicious! Keep up the awesome work.

    Would you be interested in sharing recipes with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats and on Instagram @Creatorsdotco (where we share creations from the Good Eats community!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

