Homemade: Pecan Pie Granola

My favourite nuts are by far pecans. They are like little bites of heaven. So, why not make a granola based around them right? I’ll warn you though, this granola is fairly addictive – I’ve often caught myself snacking on it throughout the day.

Breakfast is by far my favourite meal of the day so I always try to get a bit of variety each day. Some days I’ll have a sweet breakfast whilst others savoury. Some days I’ll spend a while creating some masterpiece and others I want something that takes five minutes. This granola definitely fits into the last category.

It’s always good to have a jar of this sitting on the kitchen so that you can whip up a delicious breakfast in no time at all. Team up with some fruit and you’ve got yourself something nutritious and delicious – boom.

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (or 180ºC for fan ovens)/gas mark 6.

300g oats
200g pecans
150g dates, chopped
150ml maple syrup
200g coconut oil
pinch of salt

Heat the dates and maple syrup in a pan until the dates have broken down a bit. Add the coconut oil and allow to melt whilst stirring.

Mix the oats, pecans and salt in a bowl. Pour over the date

mixture and stir until mixed through.

Cook in the oven for 10 minutes. Allow to cool before transferring it to a jar or a tupperware.

emmastill__DSC9367_20170513

Leave a Reply

