Homemade: Dark Chocolate Vegan Pancakes

In February in my last recipe for pancakes I promised that I would create some vegan ones. Normally, pancakes consist of milk, eggs and flour. Personally, I’ve often struggled to make them without eggs. However, I’ve been trying to cut down on the amount of eggs I’ve been eating lately (I’ve actually starting going off them a bit) so decided to go full on vegan with my pancakes.

Most of my attempts at vegan pancakes have failed I’m not going to lie. I’ve eaten every batch I’ve made (even the ones representing some weird type of goo) and the taste has always been okay but the lack of eggs has meant they don’t stick together properly.

Then, I made these beauties. I fancied something nourishing and chocolately one day whilst making something vegan and something that Gareth would eat (as many people will know he’s the world’s fussiest eater).

I’ve often made cakes using a mixture of baking powder and apple cider vinegar as an egg replacement so I thought I would attempt it in the world of pancakes. It actually worked! Just make sure you don’t add the vinegar until right at the end and give it a good mix.

These are simple, vegan and tasty. Served with some berries and maple syrup and they are to die for. I’m honestly converted to the realm of vegan pancakes and I don’t think I’ll be reverting back anytime soon.

My next challenge will be making vegan, gluten free pancakes! Watch this space…

Serves 2 – 3 (makes approximately 8 pancakes)

200g wholemeal flour (I use spelt)
60g cacao/cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sea salt
400ml plant milk (I use oat, almond or cashew)
4 tsp maple syrup (add more if you’d like it a bit sweeter)
2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Mix together the flour, cacao, baking powder and salt. Pour in the milk and maple syrup and stir until there are no lumps remaining. Add the apple cider vinegar and stir throughly.

Heat a non-stick saucepan with your oil of choice (I use coconut, olive or avocado) and once hot spoon in a ladleful of the mixture and spread out. Cook for a few minutes on each side. Repeat this until all the mixture is used up.

Serve with fruit of your choice and drizzle with maple syrup.

emmastill__DSC9772_20170606

Leave a Reply

