Keep Moving – The Groove

Keep moving was not needed last month, given that the whole month was about sport! I’ve been meaning to write this edition of it for quite a while, always putting it off, as I can never quite find the right words to suit the theme. However, it fits perfectly given last month’s small hiatus and so it needs to be writ.

Emma and I didn’t run this morning. We were meant to, but woke up and decided not to. We have been quite busy recently. I’ve been working more than usual, Emma has been doing a lot for her course. Last Friday she spent the whole day making recipes, partly for Homemade and partly for her course. I’ve spent more days at Boots than at home over the last two weeks. It’s no surprise that on a rare day off I really don’t fancy pulling on my running shoes.

It’s funny when you consider it. Writing stuff down on paper, or Microsoft Word, makes everything sound so simple. So easy. The thing about exercise is, you never want to do it but it always feels so good after you complete it. Finding that feeling before you start is tough, so that can’t be the reason for us starting it.

Instead, you need to look deeper. A lot of people exercise because they feel they have to. In reality, that’s why we started. Emma’s blood pressure, my lethargy. We felt we needed to do something. And doing something, anything, is usually enough to shake that nagging feeling in the mind that we need to be active. Go for a run, make it simple, don’t push yourself. I can almost guarantee you’ll feel good for the rest of the day. You did something, congratulations.

When you are a self-motivator, it’s impossible to push yourself. I’m sorry, people will disagree with me there, but it is. You always make deals with yourselves, and you can’t help but feel good with whatever you do. Or at least that is how it is for me.

And so when I run, even if I don’t push myself, I feel good.

And of course, on the flip side, I feel awful when I don’t.

Which is stupid. I have a fitbit. I use it, like most who have one, to track steps, kms, flights, active minutes, active hours and calories. I have targets for every single one of them. Of them, I prioritise steps and active minutes. I haven’t ever failed to hit my target for either of those, whether I run or not. Recently, Emma and I decided to up 10,000 steps to 12,000. We are still finding it easy to do that.

The last day I didn’t meet all of my goals was 12th April. Now we’re in June, that’s a hell of a long time ago.

Using my logic, I shouldn’t feel guilty about not running. I’m clearly active enough without it. But yet it still nags at me. I’ve decided there’s nothing you can do to ignore that side of you. If you set yourself goals, as I try to, not achieving them will always make you feel a little bit guilty.

But you know what, screw that feeling. Screw that side of you. Enjoy not running, enjoy sitting in front of the TV and doing nothing. As a society we place too much emphasis on being busy. If you are having a quiet day, it is assumed you are being lazy and idle. You aren’t, you are just having some time off. Time off relaxing is important, don’t allow our messed up work driven society tell you otherwise.

And I’ll try and follow my own advice to feel less guilty in the future when we don’t run.

Leave a Reply

