Music of the Month – July

For me, music is something I couldn’t live without.

I always find it odd when people slag off the arts. Being an artist myself, as a photographer, dabbling musician and food blogger, I can’t see a life without the arts. Whilst we see doctors or scientists or lawyers (etc.) as important jobs – which they undoubtedly are – I bet you can’t find one day where the arts haven’t affected you in some way.

Listening to music for me has two main purposes: an escape or to enjoy by singing at the top of my voice. The latter I tend to do either when cooking or driving. At the same time I am very sensitive to music. I can’t listen to heavy loud music for too long or I start to feel stressed. So, most of the music I listen to is quite calm and easy to listen to rather than loud and in your face.

This month I thought I would focus on this easy listening music so it’s slightly different than what Gareth posts. I’ve therefore pulled together a playlist of the type of music I listen to on a day to day basis. Either music you can use to escape your everyday stressful life or to listen to as you cook or a banging tune to sing along to in the car.

You’re welcome.

Bon Iver – 666

This song is right balance of calm, deep and powerful. I mean you could honestly just scrap the rest of this playlist and just play Bon Iver albums but I thought I’d have a bit of diversity for you.

The Lumineers – Cleopatra

I am a huge fan of all things to do with The Lumineers. However, this song is guaranteed to stick in your head for days and you’ll soon be singing it at the top of your voice.

Ed Sheeran – Firefly

I’ve liked Ed Sheeran since before he was famous. This is song off his album Loose Change and it’s a firm favourite.

Newton Faulkner – Dream Catch Me

I am blessed to have seen this live at T in the Park and it’s brilliant. I had it as the song for my alarm for a while. It’s upbeat and catchy – perfect for driving.

Train – Drops of Jupiter

A hell of an emotional song. It’ll make you cry and laugh at the same time. However, it’s a beautiful tune and just perfect to listen to.

Ben Howard – Bones

This is a bonus track. It is by far my favourite Ben Howard song. I don’t know why but I always feel very connected to this song and I guess that’s why I love it.

Bon Iver – Skinny Love

Many people have heard this song before. Birdie covered it and made it semi famous. However, I love the original. Raw emotion and passion which is very typical of Bon Iver.

Bastille – Torn Apart

You can’t have a road trip without this song. Enough said.

Of Monsters and Men – Crystals

I love the lyric video for this song – check it out if you have a spare few minutes. It’s a feel good, upbeat song which I always find myself coming back to.

Mumford and Sons – Believe

A lot of people don’t like Mumford and Sons’ new sound. I am not one of them. This song is a beauty.

The Lumineers – Stubborn Love

One of my favourite quotes of all time is in this song. “The opposite of love’s indifference”. It’s beautiful.

Biffy Clyro – Victory Over The Sun

Biffy are one of those bands that I can’t listen to on repeat. Not because I don’t like them (I love them) but because some of their songs are a bit loud for me after a while. However, this song is brilliant on many levels.

fun. – Some Nights

A lot of songs by these guys are brilliant but this one is unbelievably catchy. A good one to sing along to.

Bombay Bicycle Club – Beg

Another bonus track. It shouldn’t be a bonus track honestly.

The Black Keys – Gold on the Ceiling

A classic. A real classic.

The Cinematic Orchestra – To Build a Home

This was on either a John Lewis or Waitrose advert some years ago and I was hooked to it fairly quickly. It’s beautiful and emotional and everything I look for in a song.

Salvador Sobral – Amar Pelos Dois

Okay, so I know a fair amount of people don’t like Eurovision but bear with me here. This song is one of the best that has come out of Eurovision in recent years and is something that you need to hear even if you’re not a fan of the competition. It’s even inspired me to try to learn Portuguese.

The Fray – Over My Head (Cable Car)

This also used to be my alarm. A good one to wake up to – I’m not going to lie.

Cold War Kids – Bulldozer

This is a song that Gareth introduced me to and I’m indebted to him. It’s just fantastic.

The Killers – All These Things That I’ve Done

For personal reasons I love this song. It’s also just a great song.

Alt-J – Warm Foothills

An underrated Alt-J song. It’s my favourite of theirs.

Shura – What’s It Gonna Be?

Go watch the video for this song. You won’t regret it.

Vetusta Morla РA̱o Nuevo

This band got me through my Spanish A level. This song I’ve had on repeat many a time. It’s so emotional – I love it.

Two Door Cinema Club – Something Good Can Work

Love it. It’s so catchy and upbeat. Perfect for any occasion.

Jack Johnson – Better Together

If you don’t know this song then you’ve been living under a rock quite frankly. You need to listen to it – it’s brill.

Bon Iver – 33 “GOD”

I think this song is the perfect build up. Starts slow and then suddenly it’s built up to this amazing crescendo.

Bastille – Good Grief

Crazily amazing. I love everything Bastille and it’s impossible to try and pick from their songs.

Ed Sheeran – Castle On The Hill

Because it’s the best one from his new album.

Elbow – Open Arms

Elbow have a fair few good songs but I love this one. I think it’s just too feel good to ignore.

Damien Rice – Accidental Babies

This song is beyond emotional. I think it’s perfect.

Imagine Dragons – Trouble

It’s strangely addictive. I could recommend plenty of Imagine Dragons songs but I think this one works here.

Royal Blood – Ten Tonne Skeleton

I know I said I don’t listen to much heavy music but I do listen to some. I love Royal Blood. This is a belter for a car journey.

Seafret – Atlantis

Saw these guys supporting Kodaline and I’ve been saying ever since that they are going to be something big some day. I will be surprised if they’re not.

CHVRCHES – High Enough To Carry You Over

Any song by them is awesome but I gotta say I kinda love this one.

Gabrielle Aplin – Light Up The Dark

Any Gabrielle song could’ve made it onto this list but I’m currently very addicted to this song.

Bombay Bicycle Club – Feel

If you’ve never heard this then you need to.

Sunstroke Project – Hey Mamma

Yep I know, another Eurovision song. It’s a great song though. It’s catchy and so so happy. I can listen to it again and again.

Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah

We all know Hallelujah but this is the best version. All I can say is that Jeff Buckley died way too young.

Biffy Clyro – Spanish Radio

Best Biffy song in my opinion. I can never get enough of it.

Bon Iver – Holocene

You have to finish every playlist with this.

Leave a Reply

