Keep Moving – Injuries

The obvious thing for me to write about this month would be how to keep active while injured. The fact I can’t leave the house without having my arm in a sling suggests I can’t run at the moment, but it doesn’t stop me from walking. The purpose of the sling is to stop me using it, but I’m not allowed to wear it all the time as that would just mean the muscles would seize up.

The problem with writing about that is that I’m not a doctor. I can’t offer medical advice on what you should and shouldn’t do while injured and I’m incredibly reluctant to tiptoe alongside an article which even hints at it. If you feel pain, any hint of pain then go to your GP. Get proper medical advice, ask questions and listen to their answers. If you aren’t satisfied, go to someone else.

For me, I’m actually not that frustrated by my lack of running. You don’t plan for injuries, so you have no time to consider all of the ramifications of them. They kind of just happen. I can’t run for a little bit, oh well, it’s quite nice to have a break to be honest. I can’t do my usual work for a little bit, yes, that’s both more pressing and more frustrating.

I’m keeping moving though. Firstly, and most importantly, because my doctor told me to, and secondly because I want to. I can survive without running; it’d be a lot harder if I couldn’t walk as well!

Which has got me thinking. I probably need a plan for if I ever can’t walk for a period of time, or, and I really hope it doesn’t come to this for a very long time, for ever. It’s tough. I’m used to doing a walk every day, so it’s hard when I don’t. I’ve been accused of being obsessed in the past, and there’s probably an element of truth in that.

I’m not very good at resting my arm, I doubt I’ll be very good at following advice not to walk. It’s a worry, and one that needs a certain degree of attention, although we all know I’ll ignore it until it becomes critical.

I’ll try and get into a similar mind set to the one I’m in now. That rather than being a curse, it’s a nice break. Certain injuries can be viewed as your bodies way of telling you to slow down. My arm one falls into that category, brought on by over-use more than anything, and it’s brought about a refreshing change of pace.

Leave a Reply

