Old Technology

Right now, as I’m writing this, I’m listening to Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Vol. 1 on vinyl. Currently, I’m blasting out Escape (The Piña Colada Song) and singing along (not very well I will add). Not that along ago I was dad dancing along to Spirit in the Sky and then I Want You Back.

I started the day not feeling all that great. I didn’t feel well. I tried to make muffins in the morning but then run out of energy when it came to making lunch. It’s a hot day. The type of day where wearing shorts just about makes you feel like you’re not melting. And to make it worse it’s that sticky, humid type of heat that seems somewhat traditional in Britain. (If you’re reading this from another country firstly hello and secondly British heat is not all that fun. I much prefer foreign dry heat)

I spent the first half of the day feeling fairly sorry for myself but now I’m feeling pretty great. (O-O-H CHILD THINGS GONNA GET EASIER. O-O-H CHILD THINGS WILL GET BRIGHTER – sorry the song just came on) Why? Because I goddamn love my record player.

I bought it a few years back whilst in America and it’s served me well. I end up listening to it almost everyday (I have a habit of playing a record whilst doing yoga) and I can’t help feel like I was born in the wrong era.

Firstly, because these songs are incredible. (Ain’t No Mountain High Enough is playing now FYI) But also records are so much better than tapes, CDs or now digital downloads. I love the imperfect feel of the needle on the vinyl. It makes music so much more real. It’s not polished like digital downloads. It’s a rugged, unique sound.

Ain’t no mountain high enough, ain’t no valley low enough, ain’t no river wide enough to keep me from getting to you baby.

I don’t really know the purpose of this article than to say I think sometimes it’s good to go back to our roots sometimes. Whip out the old technology and give it a whirl. It’s something special.

The record has finished now and I feel like something a bit different. Maybe some Bon Iver or Of Monsters and Men might work. Or maybe The Lumineers. Ah life is good.

Leave a Reply

