Homemade: Sweet Potato Risotto

I’ve had a busy three weeks so sorry I’ve been quiet on the social media/making recipe front. Therefore, I’ve had to go back to my basics and found a recipe that is a staple for me. I love risotto – it’s creamy and moreish – however I’ve found recently that I can’t really stomach white rice much anymore and brown risotto rice is a pain to use. That’s where pearl barley steps in.

Risotto is one of the meals I’ve completely learnt to make without a recipe. I don’t measure any of the ingredients as it’s become truly intuitive. However, I’ve made an effort to note how much I put in to get this recipe. Barley is a great alternative to risotto rice and is actually easier to cook as you can leave it alone rather than stirring it all the time. Enjoy!

Serves 3

Preheat the oven to 200ºC (or 180ºC for fan ovens)/gas mark 6.

1 red onion, diced
1 garlic clove, chopped
200g pearl barley
200ml white wine
2 sweet potatoes, cubed
500ml boiling water
1 1/2 tsp stock powder
1/2 tsp honey
200g feta
salt and pepper

Put the sweet potato on a baking tray, drizzle with oil, season and cook in the oven for 20-30 minutes (or until soft).

Meanwhile, fry the onion and garlic in a drizzle of oil for five

minutes. Add the barley and cook for another couple of minutes. Pour in the wine and cook until the barley has absorbed it all.

Mix together the water and stock and pour it in the pan. Allow to simmer until all the liquid has been absorbed.

Add the cooked sweet potato, honey and feta and stir through.

If you’d like stir in some pesto for a flavour twist.

emmastill__DSC9215_20170507

Leave a Reply

