Homemade: Spicy Lentil and Halloumi Breakfast Burrito

Anyone who knows me will know my love of halloumi and my love of Mexican food. This for me is the perfect combination of the two.

Now, I’m normally a sweet breakfast kinda person. Smoothies, porridge, pancakes and so on. However, sometimes you just need something savoury in the mornings – especially at weekends. Normally, I gravitate to Shakshuka or something with tofu but in this case I felt like having something a bit different.

A burrito for breakfast? Why the hell not?! It’s super satisfying for someone who tends to have a big appetite in the mornings. Plus, it contains the two best things in the world: puy lentils and halloumi. I’m salivating right now.

I put a load of chilli in this because I like spicy food however you can tone it down/remove the chilli altogether. Or alternatively, you can put even more chilli in it because although I like spicy food I’m not a fan of making it so spicy my eyes start watering.

If you can’t be bothered to make a wrap then simply buy some wholemeal wraps/tortillas from the supermarket. I just like to make it fresh as it tastes nice but I understand it can be a faff to do. Also, the egg is optional and make sure you do it how you like – fried, poached, scrambled… Whatever floats your boat.

Serves 2

Preheat the oven to 200ÂēC (180ÂēC for fan ovens)/gas mark 6.

Filling

125g cooked puy lentils
125g halloumi, sliced
4 tablespoons tomato puree
1 tsp dried chilli flakes
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp olive oil
1 clove of garlic, chopped
1 green chilli, sliced
salt and pepper
2 eggs (optional, cooked how you prefer)
Spoonful of yoghurt (optional)

Wrap

120g flour (use whatever you want but a mix of wholemeal and white works well)
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
60ml water

(or two wholemeal wraps/tortillas)

Mix together all the ingredients for the filling in a bowl and put in an oven dish. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes.

Meanwhile, if making the wrap, mix together the flour, baking powder and salt. Pour in the water and bring together with your hands until a dough forms. Separate this dough into two balls and roll one out into a thin circle. Heat some oil in a frying pan and fry the circle of dough for a couple of minutes on each side. Repeat with the other ball of dough.

Place the filling on the wraps with a spoonful of yoghurt and your eggs. Roll and enjoy!

emmastill__DSC5111_20170812

Leave a Reply

